new

Wednesday Oct 04, 2017 12:00 pm

Jeff Becker is on tour in the South with the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus. Here he is shown with his husband Don Martin and Pat and Craig Pratt who are accompanying the Chorus.

Sunday Oct 22, 2017 11:45 am

On Sunday, October 22, Malcolm Margolin, noted Berkeley author, naturalist & founder of nonprofit Heyday books, who will speak on “California’s Oldest and Deepest Sense of Itself: Observations on the Spiritual and Practical Life of California’s Native

Saturday Nov 11, 2017 09:00 am

On Saturday, November 11, 9 am – 1 pm in Loper Chapel, the Adult Education Ministry invites you to attend a Non-Violent Communication (NVC) training, presented by Roxy Manning, executive director of

Thursday Oct 19, 2017 12:00 pm

Each year the Committee of Involvement (COI) invites First Church attendees to join the core ministries of the church.

Sunday Oct 29, 2017 03:30 pm

Our second annual Day of the Dead Celebration will be held in Loper Chapel 3:30– 5:30 pm on Sunday, October 29.

Sunday Oct 29, 2017 11:45 am

In March of this year, Stan Boghosian traveled to parts of Israel, Jordan and Lebanon at the invitation of a relative who used to live there.

Wednesday Sep 20, 2017 12:00 pm

Our worship series for fall is #BlessedTomorrow. We have been so focused on and fearful about the daily calamities that have befallen us individually, locally, nationally, and globally, we often forget to take the long view.

Sunday Oct 15, 2017 11:45 am

Join us for a special musical treat! InterPlayer Soyinka Rahim will lead four intergenerational singing sessions featuring songs from her album BIBO (Breathe In Breathe Out) Love.

Saturday Nov 04, 2017 01:00 pm

The Ministry of Justice & Service will be sponsoring a service day at the Alameda County Community Food Bank, located at 900 Edgewater Dr.

Sunday Nov 05, 2017 03:00 pm

On Sunday, November 5, 2017 a “founding meeting” for the Choral Majority will be held from 3 to 5 pm in Loper Chapel at First Church Berkeley, spearheaded by musician and activist

Thursday Nov 02, 2017 07:30 pm

Author and Spirit Rock meditation teacher Phillip Moffitt will speak about his new book Awakening through the Nine Bodies on Thursday, November 2, 2107 at 7:30 pm in the Sanctuary at First Church Berkeley.

Tuesday Nov 07, 2017 07:00 pm

BOCA (Berkeley Organizing Congregations for Action) presents “A Reason for Hope—There is Another Way”.

Saturday Jan 20, 2018 09:00 am

On Saturday, January 20, 2018, First Church is pleased to offer a day-long training on Companionship, with Craig Rennebohm, author of The Way of Companionship: Welcoming the Stranger and a nationally renowned expert.

Wednesday Oct 11, 2017 12:00 pm

New signs in the First Church parking lot reserve spaces for special parking on Sunday mornings.

Thursday Oct 05, 2017 12:00 pm

If you have seen the round, flat purple cushions in the Hall of Entrance or Sanctuary on worship days, no, they are not gifts left behind after an alien visitation.

Wednesday Oct 04, 2017 12:00 pm

Senior Minister Molly Baskette holds office hours each week on Tuesdays.

Monday Sep 25, 2017 12:00 pm

Part of our campus is offline since the fire, but we want to send a message that our church is very much alive and kicking!

Sunday Oct 15, 2017 12:00 pm
FamChY Kids Night In!, Red Cross Babysitter’s Training with First Aid & CPR, Brewsters Halloween Party, Day of the Dead Celebration, FCCB Book Group Gatherings, Phillip Moffitt: Awakening Through the Nine Bodies
Monday Sep 11, 2017 12:00 pm

Trust Hilton has been hired as the Director of Youth Ministries at First Church Berkeley.

Sunday Sep 24, 2017 11:30 am

The First Church Gospel Choir will rehearse in Loper Chapel or the Sanctuary after worship (~11:30 am) on the following dates:

September 24, October 8 & 22, November 12, December 10.

Sunday Sep 03, 2017 09:40 am

Interested in singing old hymns and learning new ones?

Thursday Aug 10, 2017 12:00 pm

As a reminder, since Rev. Rachel is on family leave and then sabbatical until early December, here are ways you can find the spiritual support you need in our community.

Sunday Oct 08, 2017 10:00 am
Find out who will be preaching at First Church on upcoming Sunday mornings.
Thursday Nov 02, 2017 10:45 am

Young Adult Minister Kit Novotny will have office hours on Thursday, November 2, 10:45–11:45 am, 1951 Coffee Company, 2410 Channing Way, Berkeley, CA 94704.

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing that some have entertained angels without knowing it. — Hebrews 13:2

Friday Sep 01, 2017 12:00 pm

Childcare is offered after church for meetings, workshops and adult education programs.

Please help this system work smoothly in the transition between Sunday School (happening during worship) and child care afterward.