new

Thursday Dec 21, 2017 06:00 pm

First Church offers a Longest Night Service on Thursday, December 21, 2017, at 6 pm in Loper Chapel.

Wednesday Dec 06, 2017 12:00 pm

First Church folk have two opportunities to contribute to our unhoused neighbors this season.

Christmas Bags

Tuesday Dec 19, 2017 06:30 pm

Join us Tuesday, December 19 at 6:30 pm for the first annual Berkeley’s Homeless Person’s Memorial Service.

Wednesday Dec 06, 2017 12:00 pm

Remembering loved ones who are on our hearts and minds can be a meaningful part of the Christmas season. A way to honor a loved one is to donate to the FCCB Flower Fund in their name.

Sunday Dec 24, 2017 04:00 pm

First Church has had a long history making "family" music for the All Ages Christmas Eve Service at 4 pm on Sunday, December 24.

Thursday Dec 14, 2017 12:00 pm

Just in time for Christmas gift shopping! First Church T-shirts!

Wednesday Nov 29, 2017 12:00 pm

This year's Advent & Christmastide Calendar is here! It includes a short prompt for each day, that requires no complicated props or prep, and is suitable for all ages, to help you focus on the soul of the season.

Thursday Dec 07, 2017 12:00 pm

First Church members Cynthia Winton-Henry and Bree Elle Gardner have created and will tend to the development of an Advent Shrine during the season in the Hall of Entrance based on the

Sunday Nov 19, 2017 11:45 am

As First Church Berkeley considers an affordable housing project on its property, the church is holding a series of meetings to discuss issues that would need to be considered in the process.

Sunday Jan 07, 2018 09:40 am

Interested in singing old hymns and learning new ones?

Monday Nov 06, 2017 12:00 pm

Emerging Leader Loi Almeron has begun creating a series of short videos called “Word Takeaway.” Each week after the service, the preacher summarizes their sermon in about two minutes.

Sunday Jan 14, 2018 11:45 am

What’s all this talk about mental health? Does it seem like something has changed in the last few decades?

Sunday Oct 22, 2017 11:45 am

Watch the video of the SAHA presentation including the questions that were raised.

Sunday Aug 20, 2017 11:45 am

On Sundays, August 6, 13, & 20, 2017 the Adult Education Ministry presented a series entitled Contemplating Loss and Death: A Zen Hospice Project Perspective in the Sanctuary.

Saturday Jan 20, 2018 09:00 am

On Saturday, January 20, 2018, First Church is pleased to offer a day-long training on Companionship, with Craig Rennebohm, author of The Way of Companionship: Welcoming the Stranger and a nationally renowned expert.

Tuesday Dec 19, 2017 05:30 am

Senior Minister Molly Baskette holds office hours each week on Tuesdays.

Monday Sep 25, 2017 12:00 pm

Part of our campus is offline since the fire, but we want to send a message that our church is very much alive and kicking!

Sunday Dec 17, 2017 10:00 am
Find out who will be preaching at First Church on upcoming Sunday mornings.
Thursday Dec 14, 2017 10:30 am

Young Adult Minister Kit Novotny will have office hours on Thursday, December 14, 10:30 am – 12:00 pm, Highwire Coffee Roasters, 2049 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702.

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing that some have entertained angels without knowing it. — Hebrews 13:2

Wednesday Nov 08, 2017 12:00 pm

Childcare is offered after church for meetings, workshops and adult education programs.

Please help this system work smoothly in the transition between Sunday School (happening during worship) and child care afterward.