Blue Sky Visioning Team Members Announced

At its January 17 meeting, Church Council approved the slate for the new ad-hoc Council committee, the Blue Sky Visioning Team (BSVT). Eleven members have been appointed to this important group charged with “engaging the congregation in a comprehensive and robust visioning and dreaming process for the rebuilding of the Pilgrim Hall site.”

Members include Dan Leaverton (chairperson), Lorenzo Llanillo and Scott Sporte (all representing the Fire Recovery Committee), plus Brian Hauck, Emma Fujii, Freddie Bunge, Emma S., Leonard Ash, Bob Helliesen, Betsy York and Molly Baskette. Incoming Moderator Rod MacKenzie and Moderator-Elect Kara Korbel-Chinula will serve as ex-officio members. Read the full Council report including the new members’ statements of interest here.

The BSVT members bring tremendous energy and experience. I’m excited about the discernment we’ll have as a church community in the coming months. I’m also grateful for the level of interest expressed to participate on this team; it conveys such a strong and deep love of our church. BSVT will get to work right away, setting up multiple ways to engage the congregation in envisioning a new Pilgrim Hall and synthesizing those visions into workable plans. Stay tuned for more information.

— Amy Hiestand, Moderator